Another County Eligible For Irene-Related FEMA Aid

Belknap County now joins the growing list of New Hampshire areas eligible for public FEMA aid.  Governor John Lynch made the announcement today.  Most of the counties that qualify for federal help are only eligible for what’s called “public assistance.”  That means FEMA will reimburse them for road repairs, debris removal, and other Irene-related damage to public facilities.  

Brian Fisk / Flickr

While most of New Hampshire now qualifies for some kind of FEMA relief, some areas, like the White Mountains, were particularly hard-hit by Irene.

At this point, most of New Hampshire qualifies for FEMA aid of some sort.  Counties that can file for public assistance include:

  • Belknap
  • Carroll
  • Coos
  • Grafton
  • Merrimack
  • Strafford
  • Sullivan

The list of counties where residents can apply for FEMA help for personal property damage remains much smaller:

  • Carroll
  • Grafton

If you live in either of these counties, and want to apply for aid, we’ve posted relevant phone numbers and application links here.

And you can find out more about how states get public FEMA assistance here.


About StateImpact

StateImpact seeks to inform and engage local communities with broadcast and online news focused on how state government decisions affect your lives.
Learn More »