More New Hampshire Communities Eligible For Public FEMA Aid

Betsy Devine / Flickr

The bulk of New Hampshire now qualifies for public FEMA disaster relief.

Governor John Lynch announced today that two more counties have been added to the Presidential Disaster Declaration, making them eligible for Irene-related FEMA aid.

Communities in Strafford and Sullivan Counties can now apply for help repairing public facilities and infrastructure. As StateImpact has reported, public assistance, for things like roads, is different from individual assistance for damaged houses.

Counties that are eligible for public FEMA assistance include:

  • Coos
  • Carroll
  • Grafton
  • Merrimack
  • Strafford
  • Sullivan

Meanwhile, at this point, only residents of two counties can apply for help repairing property damage:

  • Carroll
  • Grafton

Residents of those counties who want to file for individual FEMA aid can call 1-800-621-FEMA or go to  Small businesses that were damaged can also call the FEMA number or go to

The feds have set up a disaster recovery center in Conway at Mount Washington Technology Village to answer questions.  There are also centers with rotating hours at Campton, Woodstock, Plymouth, Canaan, and Lebanon.  You can find a full schedule for these centers here.

And you can find out how states apply for public FEMA assistance here.


About StateImpact

StateImpact seeks to inform and engage local communities with broadcast and online news focused on how state government decisions affect your lives.
Learn More »