Eye on Education

University of Phoenix to Close Four Campuses in Ohio

Jon Nivesjà / Flickr

The University of Phoenix plans to "phase out" 115 campuses nationwide, including four in Ohio.

Earlier this week, the University of Phoenix – one of the nation’s largest for-profit colleges – announced that it is closing 115 of its brick-and-mortar campuses nationwide.

Four of those are in Ohio.

The University of Phoenix will close its campuses in West Chester, Westlake, Columbus and Independence. A fifth campus in Beachwood will continue to operate.

The news came after the announcement that fourth quarter earnings for Apollo Group, the university’s parent company, dropped sharply.

Ryan Rauzon, a spokesman for Phoenix says the company decided to keep the Beachwood campus open because it’s used – a lot, not just for classes but on weekends, too.

“Other parts of Ohio where we’ve had classrooms and where we’ve had students choosing to complete their degrees one night a week, the traffic and the demand frankly just has not been there,” Rauzon says.

Rizzou says students already enrolled at the campuses that will be closed can continue their education. They can take classes online – which is what 70 percent of University of Phoenix students already do – or the school is looking into operating temporary facilities for those students. But the campuses websites already greet visitors with bold type that says, “not enrolling new students.”

Students who are currently attending one of the four campuses scheduled to be “phased out” can call this hotline for more information: 1-866-992-3302.


About StateImpact

StateImpact seeks to inform and engage local communities with broadcast and online news focused on how state government decisions affect your lives.
Learn More »